Checking In

31 Aug

Today is Day #3!!

A few days ago I blogged my heart out! I have felt so much clearer since I dumped all that gunk outta my head! It is so freeing to do a mind-dump…I really need to remember and do this more often!

I know that I can be a slacker! And with my bum- knee it is even easier to slip into the slacker mode. I did enough of that last week and look where that got me….grumpy and up 8 pounds! For the record, I was not grumpy I was up 8 pounds. I was very grumpy before I stepped on the scale. I was already grumpy and I really didn’t need to scale to tell me I had gained. The scale is simply a tool; I beat myself up enough on my own – I won’t let the scale do it to me!

So anyway, 3 days ago I made a commitment to myself. I set new goals – big goals with small, manageable chunks that will lead to big goal! I decided I would earn myself #7daychip for tracking! I am the worst tracker and I usually start slacking by day 3 but I am happy to say I have written down everything I have eaten or drank in these past 3 days! I am sort of guestimating calories of everything – I am finding the act of writing it down to feel more important that the numbers attached to the food. I am not obsessively looking up all the other nutritional info so I am using that space for little notes about the day.
This week’s goal is simply to track all of it. Food, fitness, and feelings. I have done that for 3 days. I feel like I am getting back to my normal. My knee still hurts and I am still struggling with this injury but I am coming around. 3 days of not eating away the anger, fear, and disappointment and I feel like I can see past the anger, fear, and disappointment. There still there but I am not ignoring them, but working with them.
My knee injury is forcing me to stop and listen. Writing everything (on paper in my 3F journal and here on this blog) is helping keep my mind clear of the clutter so I am open to the quiet voices. I sort of think my knee was a huge red alarm – I always jump in big, no babysteps for me. I am an all-or-nothing chick until I get almost to the finish line. Then I self-sabotage. This time I physically hurt myself but maybe it took this injury to really force me to listen, slow down and do the babysteps. I think I am finally in a place of healing – inside and out. I am not sure where this goes but I am ready. Let’s get it on!

6 Responses to “Checking In”

  1. AnnG August 31, 2011 at 10:48 pm #

    No more self-sabotaging! Take care of your knee and take care of your self….eat right, drink enough water and take those baby steps to meet your goal! You can do it!

    Are they rescheduling your 1/2 marathon? If so YOU ARE DOING IT, right??

  2. armstrongadventures September 1, 2011 at 6:09 am #

    Definitely, definitely take care of that injury. Working from the inside out is SO important. I’m glad you put it all out there and you’re working through it!

  3. Yum Yucky September 1, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

    all those baby steps add up, and beside, baby feets are sooo the cutest anyways. hehehe. Thanks for your shoe recommendations today. And here’s to YOU having a great holiday weekend!! xo

  4. Wifey September 1, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    Kudos to you! (I must go back and read the previous post!) Sounds like you’re on the right track – girl, it’s hard but I’m sure you’re going to ROCK it!

    Winks & Smiles,
    Wifey

  5. Pocket September 1, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

    Keep checking in to let those feelings out there’s nothing bad that can come from it, only support.

  6. Ian Rice September 2, 2011 at 1:32 pm #

    I love your “Let’s Get it On” finale. I read your blog well, whenever, you blog. Let’s do this girlfriend!!!!

Leave a Reply

