Be Prepared: Eggy Muffins

2 Sep

Today I go back to school! And then I have a 3 day weekend before I start with students. I have decided I need to find ways to “Be Prepared” and as I discover these brilliant ideas I will share them!

I am getting in a groove of writing down all my food. I haven’t had much fitness but I will change that next. This week’s focus was tracking! Back to school is back to routine. I realize I do better with the structure of routine. Left on my own at home and I lose all track of time and I tweet too much and eat on a terrible schedule. Going back to school does not magically mean better food choices or better time management but the structure helps me focus.

I have a strategy to focus on healthy food (which always makes me feel better) and having healthy options at the ready! My strategy: Be Prepared!! It is going to take planning and preparation. After a month of easy access to my fridge and pantry, its going to require thought. Today, I decided to make up some of my Fritatta Muffins.

Eggy Muffins
12 eggs
4 oz of your favorite shredded cheese
3 oz ham (or bacon, sausage or none)
Leftover veggies
A dash of tabasco
Some milk or half & half

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350
2. Spray muffin cups with Pam
3. Load muffin cups with veggies, meat, and cheese.
3. crack eggs in a bowl, add milk, tabasco, salt & pepper – scramble 4. Spoon equal amounts of egg into each cup.
5. Bake for 35 mins or until eggs are all set

Depending on muffin cup size you could have 6 or 12 eggy muffins. These make for a great quick breakfast or mid morning snack!

* “Be Prepared” will be a new series – I will add posts with my tips as I think of them!

*hi-ho, hi-ho, its off to school I go!

8 Responses to “Be Prepared: Eggy Muffins”

  1. MizFit September 2, 2011 at 6:43 am #

    have an awesome school day friend!!!

    xo xo

  2. Reen September 2, 2011 at 6:45 am #

    Yum! They look really good, Jen! I have leftover turkey ham in the fridge. No leftover veggies though, but maybe I can fix that. 🙂 Have a good day and a great holiday weekened!

  3. Christine September 2, 2011 at 7:06 am #

    Yum! They sounds great!

    • Christine September 2, 2011 at 7:06 am #

      “Sound…” Too early! LOL

  4. Donna September 2, 2011 at 8:47 am #

    Looks tasty! I totally hear you on the routine – I work at home & I find every excuse to fall off the fitness wagon when the kids are home with me. Routine is good. Hope you have a great day.

  5. Ian Rice September 2, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

    I wish I had a wife that I could make some Eggy Muffins for. Wait a minute, I do have a wife, but she is not with me. Damn

  6. Pocket September 6, 2011 at 7:00 am #

    Thank you these muffins look good, when I make some I will let you know how it turns out

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Working Mom Menu Plan | The Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans LLC - September 11, 2011

    […] Eggy Muffins […]

Leave a Reply

